My High

So, as some of you may know I’m a sucker for clothes, and bags, and shoes, and anything I may or may not need. When I’m feeling down I just type in ‘n’ or ‘e’ in my browser and it will instantly take me to nelly or ebay so that I will be able to shop my feelings. Some people eat their feelings, some people don’t eat at all and some of us shop. I fall in to the two last categories, but the ‘not eating’ part we’ll talk about some other day.

I get the feeling that I’m not the only one that does this. In fact, I know I’m not the only one. A lot of us girls (and some guys too) use shopping as some sort of anti depressants. And it works. For the moment. But in the long run it’s not make any difference, well, your wallet is gonna be a lot thinner than it used to be, and you’re gonna be stuck with all these things you don’t need. But you’re not gonna feel any better.

I’ve had this period now for a couple of months where I’ve not felt the need to shop. I have been so content with my life that I haven’t even checked out what’s new or what’s on sale. But suddenly, like a week ago or something like that, I typed ‘n’ on my keyboard. And then I typed ‘e’ and my wallet screamed, and my soul sang, and now I’m sitting here, all empty again. Drowning in stuff I don’t really need.

What’s the point of shopping anyways? The temporary high you get of your new stuff or the feeling that you can actually afford to spoil yourself? Is it really spoiling to waste your money on stuff you don’t need or is spoiling giving yourself an evening in, with a hot bubblebath and a glass of wine?

The next time I get the urge to shop I’m gonna leave my phone at home and take a long walk. Maybe it’ll work.

Kommentera

