White dresses and big dicks

So in Sweden we celebrate this thing called ”midsommar”, actually, I think all Scandinavian countries celebrate it. Maybe even the whole world, but in their own kind of way. Here we do have an odd way of showing our appreciation of the heat.
I don’t think it’s a christian holiday and honestly, I have no idea where it originally came from. All I know is that as a girl, you’re supposed to wear a white dress, or at least a dress in a light color, for purity I guess, and you dance around this big cockshaped stick covered in flowers. (As you might have seen in Frozen, which is supposed to be set in Norway)
Why? – I am completely clueless. But it’s a tradition. You just do it, because you’re used to it.
But when you start to think about it it becomes weird.
Why should fiveyearold girls wear white and dance around a gigantic cock? That is so wrong on so many levels.

Skärmavbild 2014-06-25 kl. 21.14.47

This year I decided to not wear white. But instead, the most colorful dress I own. Which is the Gater Dress from Sisters Point. With my canvas boots, a black cardigan and some fake flowers from New Look (Couldn’t find the exact ones I’m wearing but these are quite similar)

10373507_10203356047614784_8897188341384051006_n

This is my sister and me at the midsummer celebration on Rossö.

Kommentera

