Maybe Christmas will…

Even though it’s been raining the last couple of weeks and I honestly can’t believe that it’s only six days left until Christmas, my mood lightens a little when I see all the lights in the city. It’s truly beautiful.
Christmas is important. Not because of the gifts and the food, we’ve all grown up enough to see that that’s not what this is about.
Christmas used to be about celebrating the birth of Jesus, in some families that may still be the case. Not in mine though.
I’d like to think Christmas is supposed to be the one time each year when my whole family comes together and at least try to forget our fights, even if it’s just for the night.
And when each 24th comes to an end, I find myself, alone in my room, disappointed, thinking to myself ”next year though”.

Christmas is overrated. I know this. You know this. And still, we all expect that it will be this grand moment filled with happiness and joy and love and forgiveness.
It’s not a reason to give up though. I try so hard each year to make it what I want it to be. And I’m not gonna give that up. Ever. Even if it never turns out as I expected.

As usual I’m late to the party. This time it’s Lana Del Rey’s. I don’t know what it is that I like with this song. I just do. I read somewhere that explaining why you love someone is like trying to describe what water tastes like. Still.. A song is not a person, but you get my point. Maybe it was 9gag. Or instagram. Or something like that. Maybe both.

 

Kommentera

